Aging

Today’s rant is brought to you by the letter “A”. A is for Aging, And Also for Adult.

Aging is something that, thankfully, most of us Are prone to. How we handle it varies from individual to individual, And there is at least one entire industry devoted to help us look as if we Aren’t.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I certainly didn’t get to my Age the easy way. As in any life, there were ups, downs, And sideways. There were triumphs, And failures. But I’m here, And I’ve earned my place here. So I don’t want Anything that hides my true Age. I’m 61, dammit, And I’ve lived every one of those years! To my mind, it’s A badge of honour, of survival.

Genetically, Apparently, I’m predisposed to NOT look my Age. But that’s A whole different discussion.

So, why, then, must I be inundated with Ads for wrinkle creams, And hair dye? I had my first white hair At Age 23, And I’ve had my hair coloured exactly once. It turned out purple. Again – that’s Another story. The colour didn’t last.

So, why do people want to look younger? Do we think that it will make us look more Attractive? Why would that be important? Do we REALLY want some male to fall in like with us because we look young enough to NOT be his mother? If he (or she – your taste may vary) is really that shallow, Are they worth it?

As you can tell, my mind is rambling. It takes these Away trips every once in A while. Another sign of Aging, Apparently. Also, repeating oneself.

Today’s rant is brought to you by the letter “A”.

