Goals

We all know that we should have a goal in life. But it strikes me that perhaps we should always have a series of small goals as well, or perhaps instead.

Here’s my thinking:

For some of us who live with assorted depths/degrees of depression, sometimes the main goal is just getting out of bed in the morning. For others, perhaps it’s getting a bit of housework done. It could be anything, but the thing that I find helps most is when whatever we do shows progress.

The problem with this, for me at least, is that once we have achieved that “progress” for the day (I’ll use day for argument’s sake), we figure we don’t have to do any more. More specifically, we might lose the motivation to do anything else, because we know that we have expended our energy and we have achieved our goal.

I think though, for myself at least, there is more energy hiding inside me. And if I let achieving that one major goal during the day slow me down, the bottom line is that there is even more facing me the next day and the will to continue sometimes becomes less and less. Until I want to just pull the covers over my head and not get out of bed.

So that is why I think it is better to have more goals, and perhaps smaller ones. And why it is important to keep reminding ourselves, on a daily (or even hourly) basis, of what progress we have made. (Even more, perhaps, than of what we have achieved.

So.

I’m going to try to remind myself of this daily.

Wish me luck!

