Changes

I fell in love with you
You said you loved me to
And all was happy between us
But after awhile
You grew tired of my smile
And told me I had to change

And so I tried
With you as my guide
And for a while it seemed to work
But after some months
What you seemed to love once
Was not enough for you

Changes, many changes
All to please and keep you
Changes, many changes
Nothing seems quite true

I changed again
To keep me sane
With you still at my side
As time went on
You drifted on
To another you preferred

Changes, many changes
All to please and keep you
Changes, many changes
Nothing seems quite true

And now I’ve learned
Through being burned
It’s better to please myself
If you’re worthwhile
You’ll prefer my smile
Over anyone else you’ve found

Changes, no more changes
All to please and keep you
Changes, no more changes
To myself, I must be true

