Epiphanies

So, there’s this thing about epiphanies. Even if you have one, you still have to reinforce the feelings that it has brought you.

For example, I want to “become” many things. So I constantly have to remind myself that the only way to do that, is to be those things.

The first thing I did when I had my epiphany was to create a little poster to put above my desk, so that it would be a constant reminder.

“Focus on being what you want to become.”

That’s good. It’s a start. And it will remind me whenever I actually look at it. But, you know, I’m getting old and forgetful. I need constant reminding and constant reinforcement. (How do I know about this? Ask me sometime about my PMA. But I digress.) (Frequently.)

“Become by being.”

I have a checklist that I have created of various little goals that I would like to accomplish each day. I don’t have to accomplish all of them (even though it would be nice), but each one I check off the list is progress. I put this saying at the top of the list so I will see it each day. (As long as I remember to look, that is.)

So, that’s all very well and good. But you see, I’ve had the flu recently. And while the last two days I’ve felt great, today I’m feeling a little, well, relapsed.

And that’s where my checklist comes in handy. Because at the very top of that list are tasks that I would be doing if I become what I really want to be. Like someone who wants to exercise every day. (Actually, it’s walking on my treadmill. And I watch DVDs while I do it. So it’s win win.)

And so I get up off my you-know-what, and go downstairs, and get on my treadmill to watch some more Quincey, M.E.

It’s a start.

