The Weekend

I find it’s a lot easier to fall off my path on the weekends. They’re not the same as the week – we’re doing different things and going different places. So my routine kind of disappears.

That’s why it was so important to me to make sure that I started my day on the treadmill. It would have been easy not to bother, because I could probably make my steps up while shopping. But then I wouldn’t be someone who gets on the treadmill every day. And that’s one of the things I’m working on becoming. (Having a kitten doesn’t help, but I digress.)

I was musing about routines, this morning, and common sense. And I’ve realized that the reason I don’t have cleaning routines is that I never learned them as a child. My mother worked to bring enough money into the house to keep us going. We had no running water, and often no electricity. So it was difficult for her to keep up with the house, and having two kids and a husband who wouldn’t lift a finger to do anything for himself certainly didn’t help. So things that are “common sense” to other people – like having a cleaning schedule, etc., never became routines to me.

It also explains, perhaps, why common sense isn’t. If children aren’t taught it, they just won’t have it as adults.

Now, as an older adult, this stuff is beginning (finally) to make sense to me. Have I mentioned that I’m a bit of a slow learner?

Writing is important to me as well. So these posts are mainly for me, to keep me on the path to a routine, and as a way for me to document my personal journey. If you care to join me, you are welcome. If not, well, that’s okay too.

Onwards.

