Peopley

I’ve had friends share the meme on FB about not going outside because it’s too peopley out there.

While I tend to agree with this, I ventured out today because I needed to do some last minute shopping.

Now, normally, I would hate going to a crowded mall. But today it was fun. I was commiserating with store clerks and other shoppers about being hot ALL the time. I was smiling at babies. And I was wishing complete strangers Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

It’s not necessarily true that I’ve grown to like people any more (although anything is possible). But it seems that I’m channeling my mother more and more each day.

First, my stamina is not what it used to be. I can walk a lot, but I do need to stop to take a breather on occasion. This is probably due to the fact that I overheat easily, and that I’m just not as fit as I used to be.

Second, I like talking to people. Almost anyone, really. It’s fun. We all have so much more in common than we think, and it’s a lot of fun to reach out to others, and to raise a smile.

Third, it’s fun to smile at babies, and to get a smile back. They’re such lovely little people, with so much potential. True, some are rather shy. But they still peek at others to see if they’re still looking.

All of these things are things that my mother used to do. I love my mother, and I miss her terribly. She’s been gone for over twenty-five years now. But I am so happy that she is part of me. And that I’m becoming her in certain ways. This doesn’t mean that I’m actually becoming her. But I AM becoming someone like her, and this is a good thing.

I miss you Mom.

