My journey

Last year I was 26 pounds heavier than I am today.

Weight creeps up over a long period of time. It’s so insidious, because some of the changes are minute. The straw that broke the camel’s back for me, however, was when I could no longer wear my largest rings. Something had to be done.

That something turned out to be Weight Watchers. I started in February, and as of yesterday I lost 26 pounds.

It hasn’t always been easy. Some days I feel hungry all the time. I miss some foods a lot. And I’ve eaten more fruit in the last few months than in the previous 20 years of my life.

But I feel better. I generally sleep better (except when I’m coughing from a cold). My blood sugar has decreased a bit, as have my cholesterol and my blood pressure.

Only time will tell how much I will ultimately lose, and how successfully I can keep it off. Bit for now, I’m pretty happy with how this journey is unfolding.

