If

If I could write larger stories
About spacemen and aliens and such
I’d write about a first contact
Where everything seems to go much

Better than we could hope for
We’d learn to be loving and kind
Our world would be a better place
A better home for all mankind

If I could write larger stories
I’d write about the end of war
And hunger and illness and sadness
How there’d be no need for more

Constant help from all our brothers
And sisters to help us to mend
Our wounds and we’d all have our homes
Struggles for power would end

But I only write very small stories
About life and loving and friends
I talk of my cats and their foibles
And of all the stuff that sends

My brain to such crazy places
That my sanity seems to be gone
Clearly I need to write larger
And happier tales from now on

